Caracol Mayan Ruins tour

5/5

Caracol photos

About Caracol Mayan ruins

Caracol started in the 1950, after the first official visit by Linton Satterthwaite from the University of Pennsylvania. During this time, he excavated and recovered 32 stone monuments, 2 causeways and 5 courts. In 1953-1994, Satterthwaite and Anderson mapped the central area of the site and continued excavation.

In 1978-79, Paul Healy from Trent University investigated the agricultural terraces; however, it was not until 1985 that the Caracol Project initiated. From 1989-95 intensive excavations were undertaken on the monumental and residential architecture on the site’s epi-centre.

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp
Share on email
Email

Tour info

What to bring

Caracol Mayan ruins inquiry

Open chat